Burda Style 6/2014 #145: Bucket Hat

20141012_031447

A guilty pleasure, that I will publicly confess, is that I am hooked on the monthly issues of Burda Style magazine. There are tons of patterns to choose from – complete with sewing instructions and beautiful photographs – for roughly the cost of buying a pattern envelope at the local fabric store. It’s practically a steal, and the unique designs really help to challenge and develop my understanding of pattern development and construction techniques. Fun fact: Ports 1961 also accredited her understanding of pattern design by working with Burda patterns (Burda Style 10/2014 p. 27).

Although the bucket hat is comparatively uncomplicated, I was challenged with finding an alternative method regarding lining attachment. The suggestion was to sew it on by hand, which I did until my cousin asked me to include straps so that she can tie the hat onto her daughter. That would mean having to remove the lining in order to sandwich the straps in between.

I wondered how I could sew the lining back on via machine (with minimal hand-sewing). The solution was quite simple, and I was surprised for not having thought of it in the first place. This created a more durable and professional-looking finish. However, I wouldn’t have bothered to deviate from the instructions had I not been met with a deviation from the pattern provided.

CHIN STRAPS
This can be as simple as using pre-made bias strips and sewing the open edge closed then attaching it to the seam allowance of the shoulder (where the crown joins the brim) prior to sewing in the lining. Alternatively, you can make your own straps to match the fabric you’re using.

LINING ATTACHMENT VIA MACHINE (MOSTLY)
Match the right side of the lining to the right side of the crown (upper part). The seam allowance of lining should line up on top of the seam allowance of the shoulder. Sew the pieces together, leaving about a few inches of room to subsequently turn the hat inside-out.

20141012_025139

Backstitch the opening closed by hand. This not only a sturdy stitch, but bringing the thread back on itself will also ease any “excess” fabric – meaning no puckers! (One of many tips my mother shared with me back in her sewing hey-day.)

20141012_030300_20141012033438438

Leave a Reply

